New house, new adventures, new problems

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brandon Hartwick

MLO Supporter
Reaction score
Hello everyone 🙂

Last December I finally purchased my first house and have been very slowly getting things sorted out. I've finally set aside some time to get my whole audio system setup and dialed in, not just pushing out sound. Earlier this week I started playing vinyl every night just to get a feel for how everything sounds and WOW! Does this ever sound bad🤣. It's SO bright, absolutely melt your face bright to the point most detail is just lost in distortion.

Some of you might have seen my previous thread "My apartment setup" and you'd know how much I loved the sound of that system in the relatively small but very well damped room. I had carpet everywhere and sound diffusion panels right behind the speakers, solid cement walls and floors with all equipment on spikes do isolate any vibration. My new house is very old and has these beautiful oak strip hardwood floors everywhere, the downside is they pickup all the vibrations from both the speakers and subwoofer. It was actually so bad the turntable would pick up the vibrations and play them back through the speakers creating a horrible boomerang like hum. For the moment I just stuck a towel under it, I know it's bad but it works for now.

So now it's time to create solutions to all these issues so my system isn't beat by a $200 sound bar. First off is isolation, I'm installing rubber isolators under the AV cabinet and getting the speaker base plates finished this weekend, they will have isolation feet as well. If necessary I'll build a platform for the turntable to sit on with its own vibration damping but we'll leave that for later.