amp upgrade under consideration

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VideoVic

MLO Supporter
Reaction score
Hello. I am looking to upgrade my Rotel RB-1582MKII stereo amp in the near future. I have the ESL - X speakers. My budget would be in the $7K range for the amp, new XLR cables and new speaker cables ( I intend to biamp and use the Rotel amp to drive the ESL-X woofers), so I figure that means somewhere between $5 to 6K for the amp itself.

Has anyone had any experience driving M-L speakers with a McIntosh amp, specifically the MC152?
I am not technically inclined and unsure if the transformer speaker taps on the Mac are the way to go???

I welcome any feedback appropriate to this inquiry, or suggestions for other amps in my budget.
Thanks in advance.

VideoVIc

https://www.usaudiomart.com/details/650134627-pass-labs-x3508-power-amplifier/

https://www.usaudiomart.com/details/649790564-pass-labs-x3505-amplifier/

Priced at the upper limit of your budget. The X350.8 seems to be a better deal if you can verify in stellar state and not water damaged by tropical storm.

http://www.sanderssoundsystems.com/...ders-sound-mk-ii-esl-amp-with-1-year-warranty

Sanders amp is great for panels. And a great choice if you can verify amp is in stellar state.

A new Sanders ESL Mark 2 stereo amp after $500 MLO member discount is $5500. This is the same price as the McIntosh MC 152.

Goal is to add amplifier that produces effortless sonics from ML. I guess in this regard the Sanders has upper hand. Offer a free in home trial period. If not satisfied with sonics may return amplifier.

https://carydirect.com/shop-now/sli-100.html

Cary Audio SLI-100 by reason of selling factory direct is approx. 1/3 less expensive than Conrad Johnson. I have not listened to any product made by Cary audio. Only read good things.

Last edited: